Day 2: How have you changed in the past 2 years?

September 20, 2013 § Leave a comment

578976_10151766347600306_1844592660_n

If the 2011 me met the 2013 me, the 2011 me would be in shocked. For a start, I’ve given up on my 3 year old Tumblr and switched to WordPress. #horrors

Let me tell you how I have changed in the past 2 years.

I’ve lost friends and made new friends. I’ve learned to keep my bestest friends who I know I’ll grow old with even closer to me. I’ve learned to be with people who I always have great laughs with. I’ve learned to let more of my close friends to be my support system. I’ve learned about real life that had never been taught in school. I’ve learned to see the best and worst side of people; without judging them. I’ve learned the importance of loving someone without wanting to fix them.

I’ve changed my mind on what matters and what doesn’t. I’ve learned to see people beyond the music they listen to or the shows they watch- what matters is they’re open to embracing what you recommend. I’ve learned to love better. I’ve learned the importance of wearing your heart on your sleeve. I’ve learned the importance of alcohol. I’ve traveled alone. I’ve traveled to Japan. I’ve traveled to more countries in 2 years compared to I have in my lifetime with my own cash. I’ve learned how to save. I’ve learned to workout more often.

I’ve learned that being kind is very, very important even though it can be really tough at times. I’ve learned that there’s no definite right or wrong in life. I’ve learned that everyone should be given a second chance. I’ve learned to enjoy good sex. I’ve learned that we are always able to do something, and we are always able to be touched. I’ve learned that all-consuming love is not love at all. I’ve learned to be more honest with myself. I’ve learned to forgive. I’ve learned to let go. I’ve learned to trust your gut but listen to your head. I’ve learned that you can’t protect yourself from getting hurt but you can protect yourself from regrets.

So, I’m looking forward to my 2015 self.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 2: How have you changed in the past 2 years? at The Melting popsicles.

meta

